Book Review – Everything Everything

Everything Everything / Nicola Yoon / Corgi Books / 2015 / ISBN 9780552576482 / 306 Pages / Young Adult

xeverything-everything.jpg.pagespeed.ic.ZxH24CpUKT
Buy me here!

Book Blurb –

Maddy is allergic to the world; stepping outside the sterile sanctuary of her home could kill her.

But then Olly moves in next door. And just like that, Maddy realizes there’s more to life than just being alive.

You only get one chance at first love. And Maddy is ready to risk everything, everything to see where it leads.

My Thoughts –

I was sceptical about this book at the beginning when I first heard about it. But then I saw the movie trailer for the book and I was hooked. I wanted to get my hands on it and read it before the movie came out. But then I couldn’t find any copies anywhere and had to wait and wait. But thankfully I have now read it and I loved it.

The story is about Maddy, sick and stuck in her very clean and sterile house. Not knowing what she is missing out on in the world, Maddy continues to study and read to her hearts content. That is until a new family moves in next door, with of course, a teenage boy. Before she even knows what she is thinking and feeling, Maddy and the new boy next door, Olly, are forming a friendship and getting to know one another. As their bond grows and friendship turns into a little bit more, both Maddy and Olly become protective over one another. This is when the trouble starts. Maddy leaves the house and falls in love with the air and the boy. Then one thing leads to another and Maddy and Olly end up in Hawaii. And as the rollercoaster keeps running, more and more happens in this book that brings it to a more than upsetting and disappointing ending.

“I keep picturing myself floating high above the earth. From the edge of space, I can see the whole world at once. My eyes don’t have to stop at a wall or at a door. I can see the beginning and the end of time. I can see infinity from there. For the first time in a long time, I want more than I have” page 80.

Okay, so there are a few things about this book I want to point out. One, I love the way this book is laid out, short and snippy chapters make for a good and easy read. Two, I love the quirky drawings and pictures and information throughout the book. Three, I think too much happens at the end of the book and makes it an off balanced book, the problem in the book should have happened earlier. Four, I didn’t like the ending because it kind of doesn’t end and leaves too many questions that need to be answered. Five, I love the writing. Six, I think the characters are well researched and well written and very convincing. And seven, I want more please.

This book is great don’t get me wrong, but I just wish that the thing that happens closer to the end of the book happens earlier so it can be explored more and resolved better than it is. I can’t wait to see the movie to see if they get it right.

If you are looking for a puppy love kind of romance young adult book than this is the book for you.

**I was given a copy of this book from Penguin Books in exchange for an open and honest opinion. All opinions expressed in the review above are mine and mine only**

I give this book 4.5 out of 5 Booky Stars!

Untitled design (3)

You can grab a copy of this book from links on the right-hand side of this blog or directly from the link under the picture.

♥ GWAP

2 thoughts on “Book Review – Everything Everything

Leave a Reply

