Book Review – The Magnolia Story

The Magnolia Story / Chip and Joanna Gaines with Mark Dagostino / W Publishing  / 2016 / ISBN 9780718079185 / 184 Pages / Biography

the-magnolia-story

Blurb of Book–

With the help of their hit TV show, Fixer Upper, the husband and wife team of Chip and Joanna Gaines have transformed the seemingly everyday work of renovating homes and flipping houses in Waco, Texas, into something much more. With their fun personalities, good humour, strong love of family, and unique design style, they’ve managed to capture the hearts of Americans from all walks of life. It all happened so quickly, their ever-multiplying fan base has been left to wonder: Who are these people? Where did they come from? What’s the secret to their success? And should I pack up and move to Waco, too?

From the very first renovation project they ever tackled together to the project that nearly cost them everything, The Magnolia Story offers a peek behind the curtain of who Chip and Joanna are today. This first book also includes stories and photos from the childhood memories that shaped them and the twists and turns that led them to the life they currently share: on the farm with their four kids and countless farm animals, and in their ever-expanding roles as entrepreneurs, designers, and good neighbour.

It also answers (in hilarious detail) the one lingering question that fans of the show always ask: is Chip really that funny? “Oh yeah”, say Joanna. “He was, and still is, my first fixer upper.”

My Thoughts –

I was first introduced to Fixer Upper early last year, thanks to the local television putting it on every Sunday night. I got addicted to it. Chip, Joanna, their house flipping and of course their awesome accents. Once you watch one episode, I promise you will be going back, even if you aren’t a fan of renovation shows.

I read this book in two days, why? Because it was such a good easy read that I couldn’t put it down once I picked it up. I loved it from the first word to the last word and I would read it all over again. Here’s the thing about this book, if you like the show you are going to love this book, but if you don’t know of the show or have never heard of Chip and Joanna, then I’m not sure the book will translate that great.

The book is written by both Joanna and Chip, Joanna carrying most of the story throughout the book, but without Chips’ part, it wouldn’t be that great. There are many personal parts in the story that make you tear up and there are some funny parts. Most of the book is kind of an outline of their lives, how they met, what they do, how they do it and what life is like. Basically, this story tells you everything you have ever probably thought about when you have watched the show. It also tells you their struggles and ups and downs and makes them the humans we know they are.

There is only one down side to this story, and that is the length of the book. If I’m honest with you, I could probably read a 400-page story about Chip and Joanna Gaines, and the fact that the book is less than 200 pages, sucks. There needs to be more. I want to know more.

If you like Fixer Upper or are into home renovations, then this is a biography for you to read.

I give this book 4.5 out of 5 Booky Stars!

You can grab a copy of this book from links on the right-hand side of this blog or:

Booktopia

Angus & Robertson Bookworld

Stick around…

♥ GWAP

One thought on “Book Review – The Magnolia Story

  1. Great review! I have watched there show a couple of times.

    I also write book reviews, but mainly over nonfiction. I really like nonfiction because it allows me to learn the lessons that successful people learned the hard way, from the comfort of where ever I might be reading.

    If you are interested in the nonfiction I have been reading, or if you want to know what the benefits are from reading this genre in specific, please stop by my page. I post book reviews over biographies, classics, and inspiring nonfiction.

    https://thewrightread.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

