Book Review – The One Memory of Flora Banks

The One Memory of Flora Banks / Emily Barr / 2017 / Penguin Books / ISBN 9780141368511 / 303 Pages / Young Adult

xthe-one-memory-of-flora-banks-jpg-pagespeed-ic-ojpktj35el

Blurb of book –

How do you know who to trust when you can’t even trust yourself…?

Flora has amnesia. She can’t remember anything day-to-day: the joke her friend made, the instructions her parents gave her, how old she is. Then she kisses someone she shouldn’t – and the next day she remembers it. It’s the first time she’s remembered anything since she was ten. But the boy is gone.

I look at my hands. One of them says FLORA be brave.

My thoughts –

This quaint little book is exactly that, quaint. I picked up for two reasons; one, the cover page is amazing and two, everyone else was reading it and I wanted to know if it was any good. But if I am honest with you, and that is in fact the point of these book reviews, well I didn’t really like this book.

Here are the reasons I didn’t like this book:

The premise of the book. Well originally, I loved the idea of this book, one of the reasons why I wanted to read it, I mean the above blurb does make it sound interesting but that is kind of where it stops. When you get into this book, if you can make it to the end, you might be disappointed, but if you don’t make it, don’t worry, you have probably already worked out what is going to happen or, it doesn’t even matter.

The writing. Well what can I say, I love first person, it is how I write, but this first person is just not quite right for me. It is really in your face and by the time you are finishing the book you wonder where the story went and why oh why did the parents have to be awful.

And finally, the repetition. I get that the main character has amnesia. I get that means that she can’t really remember anything that is happening, but the amount of repetition makes it feel as though you might have amnesia to, because of the number of things you read repeatedly. I think if you took out all the paragraphs that are repeated after the first chapter or two, the book would be 150 pages less than it is.

So, they are the main issues I have with the book, now here are a few things that I did like about the book other than the front cover. The character Flora Banks. What a winner she is. She is such a beautiful character that I was crying at the end when I found out what her parents were doing to her and her friends wanted to get her out of it. She is strong and brave and I could never do what she did. Paige, Flora’s best friend, she is a bitch, but thankfully she turns it around to come and save the day for Flora. I wished that there was a little bit more of Paige in the story but oh well. The Arctic Circle. The whole idea of Flora traveling was such a cool thing. I loved her taking her first steps and accomplishing this by herself. The best part of the whole book was seeing her realise that she is braver and smarter than people give her credit for.

If you like the kind of story that goes around and around but has a brave ass female character at the helm, then this is the story for you.

I give this book 2.3 out of 5 booky stars.

You can find this book at:

Booktopia

Angus & Robertson Bookworld

Stick around…

Leave a Reply

