Book Review – Shut Out

Shut Out / Kody Keplinger / 2011 / Little, Brown and Company / ISBN 9781444909937 / 328 Pages / Young Adult

xhamilton-high-jpg-pagespeed-ic-uilgjwtw2y

Blurb of book –

Let the battle of the sexes begin. The girls of Hamilton High are sick of the rivalry between their boyfriends’ football and soccer teams. Lissa’s quarterback boyfriend Rangy is always ditching her to pick a fight on or prank the other team. The girls are tired of competing for the boy’s attention. They want their boyfriends back! Lissa rallies the girls and calls a sex strike. The boys won’t get any action from them until the teams make peace. What they don’t count on is a new rivalry: a girls-against-boy’s showdown that hinges on who will cave first. And Lissa finds that it’s much harder than she ever thought it would be…

My thoughts –

I am a huge Kody Keplinger fan since the moment I read The Duff and then subsequently watched the movie. Since then I have gone looking for more of her books and I have found some of them here in Australia. I have since read 2 or 3 more of her work and I can say that she is an automatic author buy for me as this latest book of hers that I read proved to me once and for all that she is a fantastic writer.

Shut Out, which I only found out half way through reading it, isn’t new at all, but rather 6 years old. But that doesn’t really mean anything because a good book is a good book and this book is no doubt a bloody good book. So as the blurb above says – it’s about girls trying to stop boys acting stupid by denying them sex. But this book is about a whole lot more than that. It is about girls finding their own voices, their own confidence and more than anything, finding their own worth and that boys don’t have to control them or their worlds.

I was impressed by this book because it not only sends out a great message to female readers, but it also I think, should be read in all high school because that is how powerful a read it is.

The writing as stated is great. Fun and easy to read and it didn’t take me long to finish once I started it. The characters in the story are unique and individual and will make you feel for them throughout the whole ordeal. The setting and the situations that go one throughout the story are your typical teenager experience but that it the good thing about the story, it is relevant no matter when it is read, either at publication or 5 years later, like I have.

If you like books that are female empowering and strong, then this is your kind of book for sure.

I give this book 4.8 out of 5 booky stars!

You can grab a copy of this book from:

Booktopia

Angus & Robertson Bookworld

Stick around…

 

Leave a Reply

