Book Review – The Raven Boys

The Raven Boys / Maggie Stiefvater / 2012 / Scholastic Inc. / ISBN 9780545424936/ Pages 408 / Genre – Young Adult

xthe-raven-boys-jpg-pagespeed-ic-pt1cuhaacy

Blurb of Book –

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them – until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.

His name is Gansey, and he’s a rich student from Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship students who resents the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul whose emotions range from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She doesn’t believe in true love and never thought this would be a problem. But as he life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

My thoughts –

I am going to admit to you that I brought this book simply because I knew that everyone else has read it and I was yet to. Admittedly you should never do this, why? Because the books never live up to the hype that made you want to buy it in the first place when you wait so long after a recommendation to read it. Believe you me on that one.

This story was a hard one for me to wrap my head around if I am honest with you. I was kind of lost just after the first few pages. I think it was the weird names the people of the town were given. Note, I don’t like it when people have colours as their names, for some reason it just doesn’t work for me at all. There was also just too much too fast in the introduction of the book and I couldn’t keep up.

If you have read The Raven Boys, then you will know what happens in the story so I’m not going to repeat it hear. But if you haven’t just know this: there is a girl called Blue, whose family are all magically connected to the dead. There is a boy called Gansey, who goes to a rich man’s school and is obsessed with finding this dead thing. Suddenly they all become friends, and one thing leads to another and they are helping each other out and getting to know each other. Before you know it, someone has a gun, something is found out and then they are going their separate ways. Well this is what I got out of the story anyway.

I don’t know what it is about this story, it just didn’t work for me at all. I can’t even tell you why or what it is that I didn’t like about this story at all. What I can tell you though, it that I’m not going to continue with the rest of the books in the series. And even though the writing in the story was good, I didn’t like the texture of the paper the story was bound in.

I give this book 2.0 out of 5 booky stars!

You can buy a copy of this book from:

Booktopia

Angus & Robertson Bookworld

Stick around…

Leave a Reply

