December 2016 Book Haul and Reading List Wrap Up

Well folks we have gotten to the end of 2016. I don’t know what shape you are all in, but know this, it’s been a tough year for all of us. The hassle of Christmas has come and gone once again, and the hustle and bustle of shopping, relaxing and catching up with friends whilst on holidays is either done, upon us, or about to finish, none the less, 2016 is almost over. December has seen the release of a few great books all around and hopefully many books have been brought and read thanks to Christmas. Now as the New Year is right around the corner, I hope you enjoy my final post for the year.

I thought I would, once again, for the last time this year, share with you all, the books I read, the books I brought and the books I was given in December.

READ –

Talking As Fast As I Can by Lauren Graham:

30253895

If you are a Gilmore Girls fan you are going to love this quick and quirky book that has been written by the actress who plays Lorelai Gilmore. It is quick, it is interesting and very funny. By the time, you get to the end of the book, you will want more from her. My book review for Talking As Fast As I Can will be coming out in January, so don’t miss it.

You can grab a copy of this book from:

Booktopia

Angus & Robertson Bookworld

The Graces by Laure Eve:

the-graces

This new aged witchy young adult novel will take you mind by storm. It will not only mess with you emotionally, it will play games on you as you try to work out what the hell is going on in the story. Not to be mistaken as a bad book, it is the opposite. It is well written, has a lot of boldness and intrigue in the story and is rather different to other witchy themed books out there now. My book review for The Graces will be coming out in January, so don’t miss it.

You can grab a copy of this book from:

Booktopia

Angus & Robertson Bookworld

Lost Stars or what Lou Reed taught me about love by Lisa Selin Davis:

lost-stars-or-what-lou-reed-taught-me-about-love

This astrophysics filled young adult book will get your musical ears moving as you read this story. Filled with 80’s hits and misses, this book follows the life of a girl who is falling apart all over the place. You will love this book if you’re into music and romance. My book review for Lost Stars or what Lou Reed taught me about love will be coming out in January, so don’t miss out.

You can grab a copy of this book from:

Booktopia

Angus & Robertson Bookworld

BROUGHT –

Kitchen Confidential by Anothony Bourdain:

xkitchen-confidential-jpg-pagespeed-ic-wejki9xsw4

I grabbed this book when I was in the city earlier this month and am in the middle of reading it and hope to finish by the time this is posted. As a fan of food and television shows and after reading a few other Cookery biographies this year, I thought I would go out and buy a copy of perhaps the most controversial and straight shooter in the business. I am loving it so far. Review will be coming out in the new year.

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater:

xthe-raven-boys-jpg-pagespeed-ic-pt1cuhaacy
http://www.booktopia.com.au/the-raven-boys-maggie-stiefvater/prod9780545424929.html

I did it, I feel for peer pressure, which I only do when it comes to books. I was told about this book by a friend a few months ago, and have been looking for a copy of it since, without any luck. With a quick trip to Brisbane, I saw it and grabbed it and haven’t looked back. I’m in the middle of read it and hope to finish it before this is posted to. Review will be coming out in the new year.

Shut Out by Kody Keplinger:

hamilton-high
http://www.booktopia.com.au/hamilton-high-kody-keplinger/prod9781444909937.html

I grabbed this book in Brisbane too, early Christmas presents to myself I like to look at it as. I am a huge fan of Kody Keplinger and thought I would grab it and go before I get back to Sydney and never find a copy of it again. Review will come out once it is read.

 

WON –

Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses by Carole Matthews:

xpaper-hearts-and-summer-kisses-jpg-pagespeed-ic-mnnjsgzv6v

I won this book through a twitter competition. I haven’t started reading it yet, but it is on my TBR pile. It has an interesting premise on the back of the book, so I can’t wait to see how it turns out.

 

So 2016 is almost done. Another year gone with many wonderful books read. I can’t believe that I finished my Goodreads Challenge of 50 books and hopefully will make it to 53 by the new year. I think I might set a challenge of 60 books for 2017!

My final statistics for the year stand at –

Brought 4 books

Read 3 (hopefully 5) books

Added 2 books to my TBR

Christmas was void of any books other than the ones I brought for myself that is. But I did get to spend most of the day reading.

My usual TBR pile wrap up will be coming out tomorrow followed by a big list finalising how many and which books I read in 2016, so stick around please.

I hope you have liked the last few post I have added over the last week, with all my top books and I hope to do more in 2017. Book reviews will start coming out soon.

Stick around….

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

