My Favorite 3 Books of 2016

As we get closer and closer to the end of the year and our TBR piles seem to grow more and more, it seems like the perfect time to start making lists to end this year and start next year off right too. So far, this year I have read 51 books. I finished my Goodreads challenge and hopefully I can finish these last 2 books I have sitting on my table down for the new year. I have read a weird range of books this year, from young adult, to adult fiction, romance, biography, autobiography and even books I never thought I would read I have read this year. It’s been a great bookish year and I hope 2017 is bigger and better not only for me, but also for you and the Australian publishing industry.

In saying so, here is my list of top 3 books of the entire year, no matter genre or publication date, but rather what I read this year: (book review links in blue)

Talking As Fast As I Can by Lauren Graham

30253895.jpg

If you have never watched an episode of Gilmore Girls or have never heard of Lauren Graham, then what rock have you been living under for the last god knows how long?!? Due to so many stars lining up and everything going per plan, the Gilmore Girls revival came out, was a massive hit, and the release of Lorelai Gilmore biography written by the actress who played her also came out days later. I grabbed the first copy I saw and read it within a few days. If you love her or the show, then you definitely have to read this amazing book. This book is in my top 3 simply because she is my favourite actor from my favourite television show and it is so well written and interesting that it can’t not be in my top 3.

The Selection by Kiera Cass

the selection
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/10507293-the-selection

This book was not released this year, but it was introduced to me this year and within a month I read the entire series that comes with this book, including the new one that was coming out at the time. It is in my top 3 books of this year because of how awesome it is. When you are looking, and looking for a great series to get involved in and can’t find anything for ages and then come across a beauty which you can’t stop reading, thinking about or wanting more from, then you know you have a winner. It is well written, has the perfect amount of sappy in it for me and best yet, there is some much to read thanks to the series.

Flawed by Cecelia Ahern

xflawed.jpg.pagespeed.ic.OFUQGG38Tr
http://www.booktopia.com.au/flawed-cecelia-ahern/prod9780008126360.html

When a new young adult book comes out with so much hype around it, most of the time I try and wait until the hype has hushed to read the book. But not for this book. It was a situation of the complete opposite actually with his book. I was one of the first to get this book thanks to the publishers who sent it to me and because of that I feel in love with the wickedly gruesome world that is in the story and couldn’t put it down. I handed to my sister when I finished the last page and begged her to read it so I could have someone to talk to it about. This book is in my top 3 this year because it is like Twilight/Hunger Games/ Divergent put with all new mind games to play with.

 

Now this was a hard decision to make, simply because I have in one way or another liked every book I have read or I wouldn’t have finished it or picked it up in the first place. So by picking these three books for this list and didn’t put them in the other posts, means one thing, I LOVED IT.

What were your top 3 books of 2016?

Stick around…

 

3 thoughts on “My Favorite 3 Books of 2016

  1. I love your list, I also read The Selection series for the first time this year and really enjoyed it. My favourite book this year was Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi then probably Death Note and The Shepherd’s Life by James Rebanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

