Carrot, Date and Walnut Loaf Recipe

I love a good carrot cake, but sometimes they can be a little tricky or time consuming to make. They generally take 50 minutes to cook in the oven most carrot cakes. If you don’t like waiting that long or are looking for something different to try and taste than this is the recipe for you. I found this recipe in the Coles magazine, the free one you can grab when you are paying. I love this recipe because it is fast and really easy to throw all together in the afternoon. Now I know I said that carrot cakes take 50 minutes to cook, well do does this one, the difference however is the steps and time it takes to get it into the oven, it is a very simple recipe. Here is what you need:

Ingredients:

  • 140 g dates (pitted), chopped coarsely
  • 2 eggs
  • 125 ml vegetable oil
  • 300 g self-raising sugar
  • 220 g brown sugar
  • 1 ½ cups carrots, coarsely grated (about 3 large carrots)
  • 50 g walnuts, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon ground nutmeg

Method:

  • Preheat your oven to 180 degrees
  • Grease and line a long loaf pan with baking paper, leaving the long sides to hang (10cm x 20cm)
  • Combine chopped dates, eggs and oil into a bowl and whisk together
  • In another bowl, combine the self-rising flour, brown sugar, grated carrots, chopped walnuts, cinnamon and nutmeg together
  • Once combined nicely, pour in the date, egg and oil mixture into the dry mixture and bring together
  • Once combined, pour out into greased tin and place into preheated over
  • Bake for 50 minutes or until the skewer test is passed (place skewer into the middle fo the cake and if it comes out clean it is ready)
  • Leave the loaf in the tin for 10 minutes to cool before turning it out onto a wire rack to cool completely.
wp-image-1074658269jpg.jpeg
Carrot, Date and Walnut Loaf without Icing Sugar

Note: there is an icing element to this loaf that I will add but know that I have not made the icing mixture as I had the loaf as is without.

Icing Ingredients:

  • 250g cream cheese, softened
  • 50g butter
  • 80g icing sugar mixture

Icing Method:

  • Use and electric mixer to beat the cream cheese and butter until it is smooth.
  • Add the icing sugar and beat until well combined
  • Spread mixture over cooled, cold loaf
  • Enjoy!

I made this cake last week and I loved it. I didn’t chop my dates or walnuts enough so I had big chunks of them throughout my loaf. This cake is simple to make with only a handful of steps before you throw it into the oven. Your house will smell amazing as it is cool, trust me. If you don’t like dates, or walnuts, then you can leave either/or of them out and I don’t think it will alter the recipe.

Storage:

Once it is cooled, I suggest putting it into a container that doesn’t suffocate the loaf as it might sweat a little bit. I should keep for a week or more and serves about 12 people if you want to be generous.

I hope you enjoy the recipe and the loaf and let me know if you have a go at making it.

Stick around…

Leave a Reply

