July 2016 Book Haul and Reading List Wrap Up

This month I went to my very first LifeLife Book Sale. I went with my mother and boy did we have a good day. I didn’t know what to except or what I was going to find. By the time my mother dragged me away I had a very large stack of books, some for myself and some for my sister of course. It had been over an hour in the large room filled with all sorts of books and I didn’t want to leave. Not only did I get some great books to read, I also got a couple for my book collections. You will see that some of the books on this list were on last month’s book haul and reading list but that is because last month I probably got them and this month I actually read them.

So here is a list of books that I have read and brought this month:

The Witch’s Kiss by Katharine and Elizabeth Corr:

the-witch-s-kiss
http://www.booktopia.com.au/the-witch-s-kiss-katharine-corr/prod9780008182984.html

I was given this book by Harper Colllins Publishing but I cannot recommend this book enough to people. I LOVE IT. It is such a great book and I wish it didn’t end. I took it away with my last month on the small weekends away trip I went on and never go to it, but then I got back finished what I was reading and then devoured this book very fast. I picked it up and refused to put it down. If you haven’t read this book you need to get your hands on it now. It is about a witch and I wish I was a witch. My book review will be coming out shortly.

You can buy a copy of this book here:

Booktopia

Angus & Robertson Book World

 

Sing by Vivi Green:

xsing.jpg.pagespeed.ic.ubJZC3aJor
http://www.booktopia.com.au/sing-vivi-greene/prod9780008173920.html

I also received this book by Harper Collins Publishing and as much as I was excited to read this book, it wasn’t the best young adult book I have read. The writing is great, but the story is a bit lacking. I found myself struggling for the first 50 pages, but then after that I was hooked and needed to know what it was about. It was okay in the end and wanted more to the story. My book review will be coming out shortly.

You can buy a copy of this book here:

Booktopia

Angus & Robertson Book World

 

Every Exquisite Thing by Matthew Quick:

xevery-exquisite-thing.jpg.pagespeed.ic.mbjmPMgpNY
http://www.booktopia.com.au/every-exquisite-thing-matthew-quick/prod9781472229557.html

Last month I told you that I won this book from a twitter competition from Date-A-Book and only read it this month. I’m not going to sit here and lie and tell you all that it is a great book, because I don’t think that it is. I wasn’t a fan of Matthew Quick’s book that was turned into a movie Silver Linings Playbook and I wasn’t really impressed by this book. If you look online, especially Tumblr you will find people raving that this book changed their lives. It didn’t so much for me. My book review will be coming out shortly.

You can buy a copy of this book here:

Booktopia

Angus & Robertson Book World

 

Black by Fleur Ferris:

black
http://www.booktopia.com.au/black-fleur-ferris/prod9781925324976.html

This is such a great book. It was the first book I brought this month after telling myself I couldn’t buy any because I already had too many to read. But I had been seeing it all over the internet and my Instagram so I knew that when I saw it at the shops, I grabbed it. I got it and started reading it in the car and before I knew it I was too scared to put it down, but I was also scared to keep going. It is dead set a freaky book. I haven’t read anything else by Fleur Ferris because the bookshop near me doesn’t stock anything great, so Black is my first book of hers and I love it. My book review will be coming out shortly for it.

You can buy a copy of this book here:

Booktopia

Angus & Robertson Book World

 

The Loneliness of Distant Beings by Kate Ling:

the-loneliness-of-distant-beings

I brought this book along with Black on the same day. I was standing there staring at it wondering what I was about because the cover looks so cool. But then I picked it up and on the back there wasn’t really a blurb, but more of a quote and I loved it and put it on the pile. I read it straight after Black and was iffy about it at the beginning not knowing what the point of the book was, but then BAM! And I couldn’t put it down. It is great, it is epic, it will make you want to get into a rocket and leave this earth. My book review will be coming out later.

You can buy a copy of this book here:

Booktopia

Angus & Robertson Book World

 

The Enchanted Island by Ellie O’Neill:

xthe-enchanted-island.jpg.pagespeed.ic.zkg_K8uaB0

I also brought this book with the previous two books, my grandmother was buying, so I indulged. I love adult fiction books and this one sounds great. I haven’t read it yet but I can’t wait to read it.

You can buy a copy of this book here:

Booktopia

Angus & Robertson Book World

 

Humble Pie by Gordon Ramsey:

xhumble-pie.jpg.pagespeed.ic.yOPU_lNxhe

I found this book at the LifeLife Book Sale I went to. I have always loved Gordon Ramsey and wanted to know more about him. When I saw his gorgeous face staring at me on the pile I knew I had to get it and read it. I am loving it, it is so well written and so interesting. I have just finished the book. My book review will be up as soon as I finish it.

You can buy a copy of this book here:

Booktopia

Angus & Robertson Book World

 

The Wedding by Nicholas Sparks:

the-wedding

I couldn’t not get this book at the LifeLife Book Sale I went to. I can’t help myself with Nicholas Sparks. If I have it already or don’t I pick it up and when it is cheap like the $3 I picked up this hard cover version for, how could I not pick it up. I have already read The Wedding a few years ago, it is the story that follows The Notebook for anyone who is interested to know. I won’t be reading, just adding it to my ever growing collection of Nicholas Sparks books.

You can buy a copy of this book here:

Booktopia

Angus & Robertson Book World

 

The Romance of Windsor Castle by Hector Bolitho:

This rustic old red hardcover tiny book was sitting in the small ‘royal’ section at the LifeLife Book Sale I went to. I love reading about the British Royal family and thought that this book looked fun and interesting and if nothing else worth money in the future and meaning later on in life. I won’t be reading this book right now, but perhaps in the future.

Mia Culpa by Mia Freedman:

I have this love/hate relationship with media mogul Mia Freedman. I know she has a lot of books out and I have wanted to read some if nothing else but to getting learn about her. But they have always been expensive so when I saw this at the LifeLife Book Sale I went to, I grabbed it and can’t wait to read it. I have high expectations for it and I’ll let you know when I am reading it.

 

The Chocolate Promise by Josephine Moon:

xthe-chocolate-promise.jpg.pagespeed.ic.yQM3M0TcdC

So Josephine Moon recently came out with a new book called The Bee Keeper’s Secret I love books about food, but it is a big book and I have so many on my pile already I thought I would wait a while before I buy it. At the LifeLife Book Sale though, I found a copy of The Chocolate Promise and thought ‘why not’ and got it. It’s about chocolate and more I am told and who doesn’t love chocolate. I can’t wait to read it.

You can buy a copy of this book here:

Booktopia

Angus & Robertson Book World

 

I Sang For My Supper by Margaret Fulton:

This is another cooking memoir I found alongside Humble Pie at the LifeLife Book Sale I went to. I don’t really know a lot about Margaret Fulton but what I hear on t.v. or from my mother and want to know more. So I can’t wait for this book.

 

 

So this month – July – I have read 6 books by the time that this is posted on my blog. I brought 3 books from a book shop and 6 books from the LifeLife Book Sale I went to. I now have 7 books on my TBR pile without including the stack of books that I got from the Sydney Writer’s Festival which I still have not touched.

So this month coming up – August – you will see all the book reviews of the books I read in July, posted on my blog. So you have to stick around for that. I will also be posting my book reviews for the books I read this month to my Goodreads account. Keep an eye out for my Instagram and twitter page for more reading and writing news.

Stick around…

Leave a Reply

