Book Review – Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Me Before You / Jojo Moyes / 2012

xme-before-you.jpg.pagespeed.ic.kblG3FxfC3
http://www.booktopia.com.au/me-before-you-jojo-moyes/prod9780718181185.html

/ Penguin Random House UK /

ISBN 9780718181185 / 481 Pages / Romance / Fiction

Blurb:

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not lover her boyfriend Patrick. What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now, and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that. What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

Review:

I have to be completely honest with you all about this book. I only brought it and even thought about buying this book simply because of peer pressure. My sister read this book on her IPad a few months ago, before it was even a thing like it is right now and has been on my tail trying to get me to read this darn book. So because I am a sucker for buying new books and needing to know what all the fuss is about, I got myself a copy.

I don’t know what to say about this book. Everyone I know and follow on any form of social media insist that is a great book, a book that made them cry. Having now read the book cover to cover, I can honestly tell you all, I did not shed one tear during the reading of this entire book. It’s not because I’m cold heart although some of you may think so, but because I have read better written, more romantic, and more heartbreaking story than this one.

I think it is a great story. It has a great plot, I can’t argue with that. There are great characters and growth in the book. I think for what it’s worth, it is a great book, a great collection of sentences that make a good story. But for me there was something lacking, something missing that I can’t put my finger on. It wasn’t a book that I had to finish before putting down, but rather a casual book with no fuss.

Epic love stories are my cup of tea, I just don’t think that the love story between Lou and Will was epic enough to bring the story into a full conclusion. I think also that the story need the tragic-ness at the end and it should have been shown rather than implied.

I give this book 3.0 out of 5 booky stars!

Grab a copy here –

Booktopia

Angus & Robertson Book World

Stick around…

One thought on “Book Review – Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Leave a Reply

