June 2016 Book Haul & Reading List

June, what a cold and miserable month it has been. Thanks to this great wintery weather, a lot of reading has been done. And thanks to a few days away in the blistering cold Blue Mountains, I was able to finish off another book. I was able to go to Mr. Pickwick’s Fine Old Books in Katoomba, Blue Mountains and you should all go there. If you love books, than this will be your heaven. Old books everywhere. The smell of books all over the place. The range of books is amazingly and you are sure to find an old book you want to have on your bookshelves.

So here is my list of books that I have read, brought, was given and won:

The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey:

infinte sea
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16131484-the-infinite-sea

I brought this book at the beginning of the year excited and ready to read it. It has been sitting on my TBR pile and had to wait as I read a few other books first but I have finally gotten there. It was time and I did it, I read it and got hooked. This is the second book of the trilogy and a definite read for those who have read the first book The 5th Wave by the same author. My book review for this book will be coming out next month. But for those who want to know, I will be giving this book 4.1 out of 5 booky stars.

You can buy a copy of this book here:

Booktopia

Angus & Robertson Book World

Two Decades Naked by Leigh Hopkinson:

xtwo-decades-naked.jpg.pagespeed.ic.0CcUZI2MV9

I won this book on a twitter competition that was bring run by Hachette Australia. It is a biography about a girl who turns to stripping for enjoyment and a bit of money. This isn’t the first sex industry based book I have read, and it is a great insight to the industry. I read it in a matter of days. If you like real life, reading about real people and their experiences, than you should read this book. My book review will be coming out soon. I will be giving this book 3.0 out of 5 booky stars.

You can buy a copy of this book here:

Booktopia

Angus & Robertson Book World

The Last Star by Rick Yancey:

xthe-last-star.jpg.pagespeed.ic.GvHPdUOapo

This is the last book in The 5th Wave trilogy by Rick Yancey. I started and finished this book with great enthusiasm. I loved it and hated it all at the same time. I’m glad the trilogy is over, but I can’t wait for the next movie to come out. If you haven’t read the first book then go out and get a copy and don’t forget a copy of The Infinite Sea too before you read this one. If you like girl power, than pick this trilogy up. My review will be coming out soon. I will be giving this book 4.3 out of 5 booky stars.

You can buy a copy of this book here:

Booktopia

Angus & Robertson Book World

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes:

xme-before-you.jpg.pagespeed.ic.kblG3FxfC3

This book has been doing the rounds lately and I knew that at some point I would be stuck in it too, so when I found it cheaply at the shops I grabbed it as I didn’t want to read an eBook version of it. At first I swore I would never pick this book up, but then my sister really convinced me so I did. Now I can’t wait to see the movie and compare notes with my sister. This book was hard book for me to review, but none the less I have and the review will be out soon. I will be giving this book 3.0 out of 5 booky stars.

You can buy a copy of this book here:

Booktopia

Angus & Robertson Book World

Every Exquisite Thing by Matthew Quick:

xevery-exquisite-thing.jpg.pagespeed.ic.mbjmPMgpNY

I won this book on a twitter completion that was being held by Date A Book. Matthew Quick is the author of Silver Linings Playbook, a movie I didn’t enjoy to say the least, but this book seems promising. It is now sitting on my TBR pile.

You can buy a copy of this book here:

Booktopia

Angus & Robertson Book World

Sing by Vivi Greene:

xsing.jpg.pagespeed.ic.ubJZC3aJor

I was given this book by Harper Collins Publishing. I can’t wait to get stuck into it. It’s a young adult book, but the blurb promises a different story than one I have read.

You can buy a copy of this book here:

Booktopia

Angus & Robertson Book World

The Witch’s Kiss by Katharine and Elizabeth Corr:

the-witch-s-kiss

I was given this book by Harper Collins Publishing too. It is about fairy tales and I am a huge fan of fairy tales. I took this book away with me but I didn’t get the chance to read it yet. It is literally on the top of my TBR pile.

You can buy a copy of this book here:

Booktopia

Angus & Robertson Book World

A Million Tiny Pieces by James Frey:

I watched the ABC Book Club and they were talking about this book and I knew immediately that I had to find a copy and see what all the fuss was about. When I was in the Blue Mountains as I was walking back to the car there was a fete with a book stand and I found this book for only $8 so I grabbed it. The man that sold it to me and I were having a great talk about the book and the book club. I think this book will be sitting on my TBR pile for a while but at least I have it now.

The Old Wives’ Tales by Arnold Bennett:

I brought this book at Mr. Pickwick’s Fine Old Books in Katoomba over the weekend simply because I could not leave such a remarkable bookshop empty handed. I don’t think I will actively read this book but it is beautiful and old and smells amazing.

The Pursuit of Love by Nancy Mitford:

I also brought this book at Mr. Pickwick’s Fine Old Books in Katoomba and the women who sold it to me said that it was funny and that I was going to love reading it. It will be going alongside the other book I brought. It’s a classic and who doesn’t love having ancient old books on their bookshelves.

JUNE:

This month I brought only 2 books (plus 3 books in the Blue Mountains), both of which I have read. I also won another book and was given three books by publishers to read. This month I have read a total of 4 books which might not seem like a lot but there were all pretty big books, so I think 4 is a good number. My TBR pile number still stands at six, although some of the books on the list has changed.

Watch out for my upcoming book reviews for the above mentions books on my blog or even on my Instagram page or Goodreads.

Stick around…

Leave a Reply

