Book Review – The Revolution of Ivy

The Revolution of Ivy / Amy Engel / Entangled Publishing / 2015 / ISBN 9781473629349 / 288 Pages / Young Adult / Dystopian

the-revolution-of-ivy
http://www.booktopia.com.au/the-revolution-of-ivy-amy-engel/prod9781473629349.html

Beyond the fence. I am still alive. Barely. My name is Ivy Westfall. I am sixteen years old and a traitor. Three months ago, I was forced to marry the president’s son, Bishop Lattimer – as all daughters of the losing side of the war are sold off in marriage to the sons of the winners. But I was different. I had a mission – to kill Bishop. Instead I fell in love with him. Now I am an outcast, left to survive the brutal savagery of the lands outside of civilization. Yet even out here, there is hope. There is life beyond the fence. But I can’t outrun my past. For my actions have set off a treasonous chain of events in Westfall that will change all of our fates – especially Bishops’s. And this time, it is not enough to just survive…

The Revolution of Ivy by Amy Engel is a must read for anyone who likes dystopian drama and romance. I read the first book in the duology about a year ago, I think, and couldn’t wait to get my hands on the next one, but I couldn’t find it for a really long time, but the first time I saw it in the shops, I grabbed it and added it to my TBR.

This book isn’t a book to read lightly. Firstly you should read it only after the first one, or you aren’t going to understand what is happening in the book. Secondly, you should read it without any expectation and specific wants from the book. I love this book because of the strong female character – Ivy who leads the story. If you like the first one, you are going to love this one too.

The story carries on straight from where the first one ends and picks up with Ivy outside the city fence, now stuck out in a desolated world with no one or anything around her. The story follows Ivy’s journey to find somewhere safe to be herself and find herself. There are a few speed bumps like a rapist on the loose and a cold harsh winter coming that turn Ivy into an independent woman.

I like this story because of Ivy and because of the excellent world building that takes place not only in the first book, but also carries on into the second one. There is also a great balance of new found love and appreciation for new found family. There was nothing in the book that I didn’t like and that is a rarity in a world filled with Young Adult books filled with mistakes.

Go out and do yourself a favour and grab the first book The Book of Ivy and this book The Revolution of Ivy and fall in love with a brand new world.

I give this book 4.1 out of 5 booky stars!

Stick around…

2 thoughts on “Book Review – The Revolution of Ivy

Leave a Reply

