Book Review – This Is Where The World Ends

This is where the World Ends / Amy Zhang / Harper Collins / ISBN 9780062417879 / 287 Pages / Young Adult

this is where the world ends

Janie and Micah, Micah and Janie. That’s how it’s been since they were children, when Janie Vivan moved next door. Janie says Micah is everything she is not. Where Micah is shy, Janie is outgoing. Where Micah loves music, Janie loves art. It’s the perfect friendship – as long as no one finds out about it.

Okay, I was a sceptic about this book from the beginning. I requested a copy of it from Harper Collins Australia to see if I could grasp it a little bit better. And even though I was sent this book to read and review from a publisher that does not in any way influence my opinion about this book because there is no way that anything could make me feel differently about this book.

First of all this, is the first book I have read written by Amy Zhang.

Secondly, the blurb is a waste of time because it doesn’t tell you anything of relevance to the story or does anything it is supposed to do. This is why I was a sceptic about the book.

And lastly, I thought the poetic, metaphoric, limerick type of young adult book phase was over?

I don’t know how I feel about this book. I have just read a whole load of reviews for this book which side with my opinion and other’s that contradict what I think. I think this book is weird and unnecessary. I think that perhaps the author was trying to write and spend out a lot of messages into the world all at the same time and it didn’t really work. I think that the journal entries at the end of every chapter aren’t needed because it is essentially re-telling things that have just been said or are being implied in weird hand written font and scribbles. And worse of all, the ‘before’ and ‘after’ element in the book isn’t needed at all.

There is perhaps one good thing going about this book, the premise of it is a bit different, but how it is completed and done is done wrong and I think turns it into another cliché young adult book. The issues spoken in the book are series and I know that, but the over metaphoric, over dramatic, over analysed writing and characters used in the book make it not only hard to understand what is happening and keep up with it, but it also annoying.

It took me almost two weeks to read this book because I simply didn’t want to read it because nothing good happens until the end, when it’s too late.

I give this book 1.3 out of 5 booky stars!

Stick around…

Leave a Reply

