Book Review – The Selection

The Selection / Kiera Cass / Harper Teen / 2012 / ISBN 9870007466696 / 372 pages / Young Adult

the selection
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/10507293-the-selection

In a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels THE SELECTION is the chance of a lifetime: to compete for gorgeous Prince Maxon’s heart. But for America Singer it means turning her back on her secret love, and leaving home for a prize she doesn’t want. Then America meets Maxon and all her plans start to crumble. Can the life she’s always dreamed of compare to a future she never imagined?

I have seen this book in the book shops for a while and haven’t picked it up simply because there were other books to read, so I keep putting it off up until now. Admittedly I read The Siren by Cass before this book and although I was a bit put off by it (Read my review for it here) I grabbed this one because a few people had told me that if I was serious about Young Adult books than this was a must read. One afternoon and two night sessions later and I was done and craving for the next book in the series. It’s like The Bachelor but in book form and I love it. I know a lot of people have read this book and a long time ago, but I am glad I have only just read it now, after all the hype. Maxon sounds like a babe and America, well she needs some work but I think she is a tough cookie. The world building is a little lack lustre, the concept of the actual selection is a great idea as a whole. I wish I knew what was going to happen at the end of the book and not wait for the next one. I think there is a bit of predictability but all in all it is what it is offering, a sappy teenage romance in a dystopian world.

If you like The Bachelor on t.v or any other show like that, than this is the book for you. Want a hit of teenage drama and romance? A bit of hope or wishful thinking that this is the book for you. I hope the series gets better.

I give this book 3.0 out of 5 booky stars!

Stick around…

4 thoughts on “Book Review – The Selection

Leave a Reply

