Smoked Paprika Aioli Recipe

A few weeks ago I showed you a photo of a bowl of Aioli that I made with my sister. It was Smoked Paprika Aioli and it was my first attempt in ever making something like an aioli and I have since made it once again, wait, maybe twice more. Anyway, this is the photo of the first time I made the Aioli.

Now here is the recipe on how I made it and the story why I made it, because I thought it was about time I shared it seeing as I told you about it over two months ago.

My sister came up to me a few weeks ago and asked me if we could make something together. We had gone out to lunch with our mother the day before and with her lunch she had the most amazing tasting aioli I had ever had. My sister doesn’t really like sauces and so when I saw her eat her food with this and liked it, I knew that she was going to start liking sauce if it tasted similar to the one she had when at lunch. So my sister when and found a recipe for Smoked Paprika Aioli and wanted me to make it with her. It was the first time I had ever made an aioli but it was going to be okay, my sister and I can do a lot of things together when we put our heads together. So here is the recipe she found with a few of my changes which made it taste sooo good.

Ingredients:

  • 1 large egg yolk (the yellow bit)
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 lemon (the juice of one half at a time though(
  • 1/8 teaspoon smoked paprika (I ended up using ½ teaspoon of it to a bigger spice flavour)
  • 2 cloves garlic (minced or grated)
  • A few sprinkles of black pepper
  • 1 cup canola oil (DO NOT use olive oil)

*Make sure all the ingredients are at room temperature before you start.

Method:

  • In a food blender or by hand (I used both in the end) put in your egg yolk and half of your lemons juice – let it sit for a few minutes together in the bowl
  • Then add your minced garlic, salt, smoked paprika and black pepper to the eggs and lemon juice that have been sitting there
  • Then start beating it or turn the machine on and wait until it starts to turn a paler colour than when it started and a bit thicker too
  • Once you notice a slight change in colour, start drizzling in the canola oil, not a lot at once and watch to see that the machine or the hand mixing it is bringing it all together before drizzling in more
  • It is going to take a while to get through the cup of oil but to also bring everything together but the wait is worth it
  • You’re going to notice the difference in thickness as it continues to combine and once it looks like it can probably stand on its own it you dip a spoon in a bring it out and it doesn’t really move anywhere then you can taste it and see if it need a bit more salt or pepper or even smoked paprika
  • If the mixture does get to thick use some of the other half of the lemon’s juice to thin it out a bit, but too much of it will ruin the whole thing.

Note: With one cup of canola oil and half a lemon’s juice, this recipe makes a lot more than it sounds like. I kept this after eating it with dinner that first night in an air tight container in the fridge for only a week, I think anything more will play with the laws of food and health a bit too much.

This Smoked Paprika Aioli tastes so good on a number of things, I had it with chicken schnitzel, fish and chips, in a few sandwiches, trust me it will get eaten, even by those who might not like eggs or sauces.

*There is an egg in this recipe, so if you are allergic or are serving this to someone with allergies please be aware and let them know.

Let me know what you think of this awesome new recipe. I know I shared the picture of it when I first made it, but I don’t have a new one so I hope this picture still depicts the greatness of this awesome sauce. Have a go at trying to make this one, it’s not as hard as it seems.

Stick around…

Leave a Reply

