The Day That Romance Died

Valentines-Day-SETX-Weddings

Have you ever wondered about the history of Valentine’s Day? Have you ever thought about how this day actually came to be?

Did you know that this day’s traditions originate from a man’s worst nightmare?

A man, Valentine, signed his name at the bottom of a letter before his was put to death which he had written for his prisoner to say goodbye. Today we celebrate all things joyous and wonderful, but I’m not sure if it is in vain of this poor man or to honour this man. I think between Valentines’ deaths and today, the meaning of his work has lost it meaning and purpose.

The history of Valentine’s Day is clocked in pain and misery and today in the twenty-first century love birds all around the world flock to celebrate with their loved ones. Flowers, chocolates, teddy bears; a trio of all three seem to make a perfect combination for some people. Oh and don’t get me started on the cards. Do you notice that shops seem to spike the price of chocolate and flowers and bears and of course cards by a few dollars just in time for February 14?

 

tcf

You walk into the shops on actual Valentine’s Day and the shops are still completely full of the stuff and you wonder ‘how much stuff can someone buy for the person they love with the words ‘I love you’ ‘you complete me’ and other sappy stuff’.

To me the whole day is a money making scheme pushed down our throats by companies like Hallmark and the like. I know I am a romantic at heart, but the sheer ridiculousness of having one day throughout the year dedicated to showing the person you love how much you love them, is kind of completely bonkers. I mean think about it for longer than a second and you might just agree with me.

Some of you are going to totally disagree with what I am saying, and some of you might even understand. But what I want to let you all know is that this isn’t coming from a bitter place, that me being single has nothing to do with what I have written, it’s actually how I have felt about Valentine’s Day since longer than I can care to remember. If it makes me a cynic then so be it, but there is all something you should know and that is, if someone really loves you they won’t wait for February 14 to show you how much.

Call me cold hearted, stubborn, a sore loser, but it’s true. I am all for love and romance, trust me, but to celebrate it off the back of a man’s death doesn’t make it all that romantic for me. I would prefer it if the person I love or who loves me to tell me that much on any other given day, because then that way, I know television and radio commercials or a trip to the grocery shops didn’t remind them that they love me.

Valentines-day-valentines-day-22236757-2560-1600

Stick around…

One thought on “The Day That Romance Died

Leave a Reply

