SuperBowl 50 Themed Fairy Cake Recipe

This week we saw Super Bowl 50 unfold in front of our eyes. What a great game it was. Go Broncos! So in honour of the Super Bowl I thought I would make something sweet to go along with it. I don’t live in America, so the same isn’t as huge here as it is there and I wish that it was, so I thought I would make something cute and simple to enjoy whilst I watched the same. I made a batch of Nigella Lawson’s Fairy Cakes. They are cupcakes, except smaller and tastier. I made them two days before the actual game and kept them in an air tight container and they tasted amazing on the day. I made my icing, not the same way Nigella does for hers in the recipe, instead, along with my mother we played with soft icing mixture and food colouring and it was a lot of fun.

The full recipe can be found in Nigella Lawson’s How to be a domestic goddess on pages 39-40.

Ingredients for Fairy Cakes:

  • 125 g unsalted butter (softened)
  • 125 g caster sugar
  • 125 g self-raising flour
  • 2 eggs
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 tablespoons milk
  • 12 cupcake patties

Method for Fairy Cakes:

  • Set your oven to 200 degrees
  • Place the cupcake patties in a muffin tin and set aside
  • Measure out your unsalted butter, caster sugar, self-raising flour, eggs and vanilla extract
  • Once you have them all measured out, grab your food processor and place them all in it
  • Turn it on and bring it all together until smooth
20160206_162810
Everything but the milk
  • Grab your milk and on a slow speed with the funnel open or pulsing the food processor with the funnel open, drizzle in the milk until it looks like it has come together
20160206_162419
end result with the milk
  • The mixture won’t look like a lot but it will make 12 fairy cakes
  • Carefully scrap out every bit of the mixture and pour your mixture into the cupcake patties as equally as possible
20160206_164223
filled cupcake patties
  • The mixture won’t fill the cupcake patties to the top
  • Place them in the oven and cook for 15 to 20 minutes until they have risen slightly and pass the skewer test
  • As soon a human possibly place the individual cupcake patties on a wire rack, without the cupcake tin and as they cool they will sink and shrink

20160206_170425

  • The fairy cakes are supposed to be small
  • Enjoy!
20160206_170727
they have shrunk but still taste good!

Ingredients for Icing:

  • Soft icing mixture
  • Butter
  • Food colouring (I used blue and made orange to)
  • Water

Method for Icing:

  • In a bowl add a few heaped tablespoons of the icing mixture
  • Grab a few teaspoons of butter (any eating butter works) and bring the two together, it might take a while but it will turn into a smooth icing mixture
  • Then add a few drops of your desired colours (I used three drops of blue)
  • Bring them all together and add to your cooled down fairy cakes

20160206_192926.jpg

20160206_203655.jpg
Happy SUPERBOWL 50!

Tip: if you want to smooth out the icing, if it has set and you want to make it look smoother, grab a cup of hot water and a spoon. Sit the spoon over the hot water and wipe off the moisture before smoothing out the icing.

Note: the icing sets to a hard consistency in the bowl and on the cupcake but not too hard.

I thought when I was making these fairy cakes that I had done the recipe wrong, because I was watching them sink from large cupcakes and didn’t know what to do. But this is how they are supposed to be. They taste sweet, wickedly sweet, so I don’t encourage a lot of them, hence the treat for Super Bowl 50 for me, but they are awesome. They remind me of cupcakes that I would get when I was a child a kids parties where parents spent a lot of money on brought cupcakes.

These are simple and easy to make, all in one food processor. I had in and done in all then less than an hour, so you can even make them after school with kids or on the weekends.

Excuse my bad lettering on top of my cupcakes, I was busy rushing to get to the television to watch something.

Have a go at making these, I promise you won’t regret it, I’m hooked on them and you will be too. Let me know if you’ve made these before or if you are going to have a go and how they turn out.

Stick around…

Leave a Reply

