Sunflowers and Sunshine

I grow sunflowers. I don’t know why, but I do. At some point in the later part of last year I started growing things. First it was parsley, then basil, garlic, of course hundreds of weeds, but now I have sunflowers too. I don’t like playing in gardens, I hate getting dirty from the dirt, but for some reason puttering around the front garden right outside my bedroom window does something to me. I feel relaxed, I have a sore back at the end of it, but I’m relaxed too.

I had one sunflower that grew pretty fast, but then died even faster right in front of my eyes. It was a short sunflower, not the large kind you typically find in movies filling big sweeping plains of land. But it was my sunflower and I loved it to bits.

WP_20151102_10_59_51_Pro.jpg

Now I have five new sunflowers all about to burst open. We have been getting this great amount of drizzling rain and just the right amount of sun at the moment that has been great to my sunflowers, they are growing like gangbusters and they look like they are about to open at any given moment. These ones are the large tall sunflowers, the ones you see in movies, and they are tall. I suspect them to be taller than myself, which isn’t a lot, I know, but they are tall and they swing greatly in the wind. Watching them from my bedroom window as I write, even as I write this, they are swaying to the wind. My father has just placed wooden sticks against them to help them stay straight, I’m scared that the extreme winds we are having at the moment is going to ruin them. I don’t want anything to happen to them other than grow. I worry about them, which is a little bit weird but that is who I am.

They are hypnotizing, they are peaceful, and they are serenity. Watching them gives me piece of mind, but is also encourages me, because when I look at them, they remind me of my potential and what I can achieve. They say writers should have hobbies other than reading, well I can’t always watch television even though I try to, so I guess gardening isn’t such a bad hobby to have.

When these five sunflowers burst open, I’ll take a photo and show you all.

Stick around…

One thought on “Sunflowers and Sunshine

Leave a Reply

