Storm……/…

Head to my ‘Extract‘ page to see the beginning of this story and the last few posts.

One my way to the ferry dock I was quiet. Usually I would be singing and dancing and making a total fool of myself, but not today. Today I was just driving and although I had the music on I wasn’t paying attention to it. I wasn’t angry because when I am I don’t drive like this. No today I was at peace with the world and myself. I was at peace with myself, with the idea of Matt and everything else. For the last few hours I had been over thinking the situation with Matt because it wasn’t like anything I had ever read or watched or known, but it was real and it was happening and now that I am on board with it, everything is going to be fine.

I was happy just sitting there waiting for Lily to come to the car, when it usually annoys me having to wait for her. I was happy that everything was okay and most of all I was happy that I finally had a boyfriend.

As soon as I tell anyone about this they are going to think I am lying. No one is ever going to believe that I have a boyfriend, that someone loves me.

Lily was right on time and in her usual foul mood when she got into the car. I really hate it when I have to pick up Lily and she is in one of her moods, it makes me get into one of my moods and I really don’t want that right now, all I want to do is think about Matt and be happy.

“How did you go on your test?” I asked trying to break the silence, knowing how stressed she was about the maths exam she had today.

“Yeah it was alright” was all she said.

Fine don’t talk to me then.

We stayed in silence all the way home which wasn’t really pleasant but I didn’t know what to do. Every time I tried to start a conversation she didn’t say anything.  As I parked the car in the drive way I heard my phone start ringing.

“Do you want me to get that?” Lily asked.

“NO! I’ve got it” I yelled grabbing my bag.

I waited for Lily to get out of the car before I pressed answer.

“Hi” I said after seeing it was Matt who was calling.

I was already miles away when Lily knocked on the window.

“The house keys?” she asked as I opened the window.

“Oh sorry” I replied grabbing them and giving to her.

“Who are you talking to?”

“Oh, it’s just a friend. Leave the door open I’ll lock it when I come in” I replied as I started to close the window again.

She shook her head disapproving and walked off to the door.

“Sorry about that. That was Lily”

“Ah, yes the infamous Lily. Hey I just picked up David and was thinking about what you were saying before about how we are supposed to tell our friends and family. Well I was thinking why don’t we go out on Friday night to the movies or something and you can bring your friends?”

“That sounds awfully like a date”

“It would be a date but your friends would be there and then that way when we tell our families we can say that we met through friends”

Smart idea. Why couldn’t I have come up with that?

“Okay let me see what I can do. So I just say that I am bringing a friend along and then once we are there I tell them that we are together?”

“Yep, hey I got to go David just walked into my room”

“Yeah me too Lily is staring at me from the lounge room windows and she knows how to read lips” I replied grabbing my bag and took the keys out of the ignition.

“Okay well I’m not going to say those three words you know I like saying, but I’ll talk to you later”

“I’ll let you know what my friends say. Oh and if you want to tell David you can. It’s up to you. I’ll see you later” I said hanging up.

Yeah this is going to be exciting. I hope.

“Who were you talking to on the phone?” Lily asked again when I walked past the lounge room to get to my room.

Crap. Why can’t she just mind her own business?

“Oh a friend, we meet at the university get together I went to last week. We are doing the same course” I replied having to think fast.

Wow those lying skills are getting so much better.

She didn’t reply to my response because she didn’t actually care, she just wanted to annoy me and ask me an annoying question, which in this situation is good, because until I have to really truly have to tell her about Matt I won’t.

I went to my room and before I sat on my bed day dreaming about Matt, I decided to get back to my university work that I had started this morning seeing as I had nothing else to do.

Do you think he will tell David about us? How old is David? What’s David like?

I had heaps of questions that I wanted to ask Matt but I didn’t want to call him, I didn’t want to be the girlfriend who always calls.

An hour later I was finished with what had I really had to get done. I was tossing and turning as to whether or not I should start other work or if I should just chill and watch a movie.

Crap I didn’t text Phoebe.

OUTGOING SMS: Hey Phoebe, what were you thinking about doing this weekend?

Moments later I got a message back from Phoebe.

She mustn’t be in class if she is replying so fast.

INCOMING SMS: Hey I was just thinking about that. Not sure, but I can’t go out and get trashed after work on Saturday as I have a family wedding on Sunday, plus I’m a little low on money at the moment.

OUTGOING SMS: Okay, well why don’t we invite everyone and go and see a movie or something on Friday night? We could grab a bite to eat before or after the movie or whatever.

INCOMING SMS: There is meant to be a storm on Friday night.

OUTGOING SMS: That’s okay; if we are in the movies I won’t hear it. Do you want to round up the troop or shall I?

INCOMING SMS: Okay Friday night, meet at 6pm and go from there?

OUTGOING SMS: Yeah sounds good. There are a few different movies starting from 6:30 and 7:00pm onwards so whatever everyone wants to see.

INCOMING SMS: Okay well I’m on the bus home from university now so I’ll let everyone know and get back to you. If there not it it’ll just be me and you.

OUTGOING SMS: Okay sounds good. Talk to you later.

Phoebe and I have been friends for eight years. We started high school together and finished together. We have gone through so much, individually and together that I wouldn’t know what to do if she wasn’t around. She helped me when I didn’t want to go to university anymore and suggested I do it online. She almost hit Daniel for me when I told him he was leaving with Alex on our formal night. But they aren’t the reasons as to why I love her. I love her because she understands me and we just click.

When Phoebe first got with Michael, her boyfriend of three years now, I told her that one day they will be married when everyone else told her she deserves better. And Michael did propose and of course Phoebe freaked out and came running to me. But we worked it out and so did they and now they have promised each other that in exactly five years from a certain date which I can no longer remember, if they are still happy and in love they would get married.

She is going to be so thrilled when I tell her about Matt. She’ll probably think I am making it up until she meets him, but I know she will be happy for me, because she knows how much of a romantic I am and how much it will mean to me.

INCOMING SMS: Hey, so everyone but Mia is in, she has to work or something. So I’ll see you Friday at 6pm, don’t be late.

OUTGOING SMS: Phoebe, are you kidding me? When was the last time I was ever late to anything?

INCOMING SMS: Yeah your right, I’ll try and not be late.

OUTGOING SMS: Good. Hey is it okay if I bring along someone I meet last week at the university meet up thing I went to?

Oh God. Why did you just do that Anna? She is going to interrogate you now.

INCOMING SMS: Sure, anyone special?

She’s started.

OUTGOING SMS: No, just a guy doing the same course as me. He is new to the area and he asked me if I could show him around.

INCOMING SMS: Sure, bring him along, no harm for us and maybe we can set him up with someone.

NO! HE’S MINE!

OUTGOING SMS: I think he said he was seeing someone or it was complicated or something. I’ll see you Friday, night Phoebe.

I had to get out of the conversation before I gave myself away.

INCOMING SMS: Wait. What aren’t you telling me?

That didn’t work.

OUTGOING SMS: Umm, nothing. I have to go Phoebe. I have to make dinner. I’ll see you Friday.

If she replies I’m just not going to reply. Solid plan, but it will probably work.

I took my phone with me and started working on dinner. I hated making dinner every night, but at least it gave me something to do other than think about Matt. Mum and Dad were both home early from work, so we sat down and had dinner as a family.

“What did you get up to today Anna?” My mother asked whilst taking a sip of water.

“Umm not much, I caught up on all my university work, picked up Lily and then started an assignment”

Thank god I know how to lie.

“Mum, ask Anna who she was talking to in the car this afternoon when we got home from the ferry” Lily said looking at me.

I am going to kill you!

“Who were you talking to?”

Think fast; just say what you said this afternoon to Lily.

“Oh it was just a guy I met at that university meet up thing I went to last week. He had a question about one of the assignments we have to do”

That was close.

“Is he doing the same course as you?”

Let it go Dad.

“Yes we are both doing the same course. Lily do you need the car on Friday night?” I asked hoping to change subjects.

“No I don’t think so why?”

“I’m going to the movies with the girls. We are meeting at 6pm and going from there. Is that okay?” I asked directing my question to Mum and Dad.

“Sounds like fun. How’s Phoebe?” Mum replied.

“Yeah she’s good; she was telling me that the travelling to university is getting tiring”

“She goes to the city doesn’t she? That’s only 40 minutes if there is no traffic”

Thank you for telling me something I already know mother.

Dinner was good and once the kitchen was cleaned Mum put a movie on. I hadn’t seen it so I stayed in the lounge room to watch it, so did Dad and Lily. Half an hour into the movie my phone went off.

INCOMING SMS: Hi, how did phase one of operation explain us to the families go?

I smiled when I read that it was Matt who was texting me. Lily saw the smile and looked at me funny. I ignored her and replied.

OUTGOING SMS: Hmmm, not so good. I talked my friend Phoebe into going to the movies on Friday night, but then I put my foot in it asked if I could bring someone along, you being that someone.

INCOMING SMS: Hey that’s okay it just means she is expecting someone else to be there.

OUTGOING SMS: Yeah but I sort of told her that I was bring someone who I meet last week at a university gathering thing and that they were new to the area and was hoping to meet some new people and you also happen to be in a complicated relationship.

Twenty minutes went by before he replied.

INCOMING SMS: Sorry I was putting David to bed. I can work with that and then we can eventually tell them the truth.

OUTGOING SMS: That’s okay. So you’re willing to be a guy I met at a university get together and is doing the same course as me and is also in a complicated relationship who is looking for a tour guide?

INCOMING SMS: If it means to be with you, then yes absolutely.

My prince charming.

OUTGOING SMS: I can’t wait for you to meet my friends.

INCOMING SMS: I can’t wait either. I need to check on David and call it a night. I have work tomorrow and Friday morning, so I’ll see you Friday night?

Don’t be clingy now, it won’t kill you if you don’t see him for a day or two.

OUTGOING SMS: Its okay, it gives me sometime to concentrate on my university work. I have asked my sister for the car on Friday night because I might have to bring a friend or two home. Do you want me to pick you up?

INCOMING SMS: Ture, I was going to come and pick you up, but if your parents are home they might ask questions.

OUTGOING SMS: That’s okay, I’ll pick you up then.

INCOMING SMS: Sounds good. I have to go but know that I will be thinking about you every minute I am not with you. I love you. Good night.

OUTGOING SMS: I love you too.

Leave a Reply

