Storm…../..

*Find the beginning of this story here

“When did you move here?” I asked curious.

“When I was ten, Mum and Dad moved us to London because Dad got a better job offer. Then when I was fifteen they got divorced and Mum took me and David and moved us to Australia. It’s been almost seven years now” Matt replied taking my hand that was on my lap.

Oh no he’s from a broken home.

I didn’t know what to say to him. I didn’t know what the appropriate answer or comeback was to your boyfriend telling you that his parents got a divorce. I squeezed his hand to let him know that I was there for him if he wanted to talk.

He kept his hand in mine the entire way to the restaurant. It didn’t take long to get there and once we were there I knew exactly where he was taking me. Matt parked the car in front of the restaurant and told me to wait in the car. As I waited for Matt to walk around to my side of the car to open the door, I stared out to the restaurant and I wondered how many times I had been past the restaurant wishing to go in.

How many times have I wanted to go here and now I am finally here, with a guy of all things. With Matt.

“Matthew, it’s so good to see you. How have you been my boy? And who is this lovely lady you have brought with you?” a man with a strong English accent said as the restaurant door closed behind us.

“Mr Core this is Anna. Anna this is Mr Core he owns the restaurant” Matt said after shaking his hand.

“It’s a pleasure to meet you Anna. You must be one special girl if Matthew is bringing you here” Mr Core said showing us to a table by the window.

Doesn’t Matt bring anyone else here? Am I the first girl he has brought here?

Mr. Core left us with a menu each and a bottle of cold water, giving us time to pick what we wanted to eat.

“Do you come here often?” I asked as I opened my menu.

“Umm yeah I do actually. When we first moved to Sydney, Mum wasn’t really around and I didn’t really know how to cook so I used to bring David here hoping that we could have something to eat with the little money we had and pretend that everything was okay at home. Eventually we started coming here whenever we had run out of food at home and didn’t have money to get more. Mr. Core and I became good friends, he is like a father to me and David and made sure we ate every day and then I started to work here when I was allowed to and started paying him back for all the meals he supplied us. Without Mr. Core and his wife we couldn’t have gotten through the first few years we were here. But now I can come here and pay for my food and know that Mr. Core is still here for me” Matt replied putting his menu down and looking me straight in the eyes.

Oh Matt.

“Anyway, do you know what you are going to order?” Matt asked trying to change the subject.

I took his hand and looked at him.

“Please no pity” he said looking back at me.

“Matt I’m not looking at you with pity; I am simply looking at you thinking why on earth I am only meeting you now” I said with a smile.

“Yeah?”

“Matt I want to know everything there is to know about you good or bad. So don’t hold back on me now” I replied taking my hand away from his, glancing at the menu one more time and putting it back on the table.

“Do you know how much I love you right now?” Matt said leaning across the table and kissed me.

Not as much as I love you.

A waitress came to our table a few minutes later and took our order. I learnt that Matt is exactly like me and orders burgers where ever he goes and agrees that there is no such thing as a bad time for a burger. Another common denominator between us.

As we waited for our meal I watched the waves crashing and completely zoned out.

“You do that a lot don’t you?” Matt asked snapping me back to reality.

“Huh? What? Sorry”

“It’s okay, the view takes some time getting used to; trust me David would stare out the window for hours when he was a baby” Matt replied taking my hand in his.

Our meals arrived just as after Matt finished his sentence. He said thank you to the girl who he obviously knows.

“The food looks amazing” I said looking at the burger that had been placed in front of me.

“It tastes even better” Matt said picking up half of his burger.

I watched him take a bite of his burger.

My god he makes eating sexy too.

I could have sat there for hours watching him eat, but I didn’t want to waste the amazing smelling burger that was sitting in front of me. I lifted half my burger up from the plate and took a bite out of it.

“Mm that is good” I said swallowing my food.

Matt laughed at me and I could feel the sauce running down my chin.

“I’m sorry” I laughed “I’m not being very lady like” I said picking up my napkin and wiping my mouth.

He laughed at me again and picked up his napkin.

“Here” Matt said wiping my chin again, clean.

“You missed a bit”

“I always make a mess of myself whenever I eat a burger. But I love them too much to stop eating them”

“Hey you don’t have to explain yourself to me. The mess makes you look cute” He replied before taking another bite of his burger.

My mess makes me look cute. Did he write the book of romance?

We continued to eat our meal as we talked. The burger was amazing, the chips were even better and the company was to die for. Matt finished his food moment before I did.

“I understand why you keep coming here now and bring everyone with you”

“Actually, you are the only other person I have brought here other than Mum and David” Matt said after taking a sip of water.

“This place means too much to me. I didn’t want to ruin it by bring girls here that didn’t mean anything to me”

I sat back in my seat and just looked at him. I knew it wasn’t the right time or place to ask him about past relationships even though he has just mentioned other girls. We didn’t talk for a few minutes, we reviled in the silence.

“I presume you enjoyed your meal” Mr. Core asked coming to the table.

“Absolutely. That was the best burger I have ever eaten. Thank you so much” I replied with a smile on my face.

“Anna you can come back here whenever you want. Matthew I like this girl. Would you like to see the dessert menu?” Mr. Core asked picking up the last fork on the table.

“Um, actually I thought we could go home and have dessert?” Matt said looking at me.

“Sure, if you want”

No dessert? What do you have planned Matt?

“Can I please have the bill Mr. Core?” Matt asked looking at him after breaking his stare from me.

“No, today is on the house” He replied tapping him on the cheek like he was his own son.

“Thanks”

As I got up from the table I noticed Matt had already disappeared. He was at the door talking to Mr. Core. The look on their faces told me that they had gone through so much together. If I hadn’t known better I could have sworn that they were father and son.

As we walked to the car hand in hand after they finished talking and I wondered what was going to happen next, after all Matt did go to the effort of denying me dessert so we could go home.

Maybe he has a surprise at home for me?

Once we were in the car I checked my phone.

“Is everything okay?” Matt asked as he noticed me staring at my phone.

“Yeah, what’s the time?”

“It is almost two o’clock. Why?”

“Lily is catching the earlier ferry. She docks at three” I replied putting my phone away and putting my seatbelt on.

“That’s okay I need to pick up David at three. So we can go back to your house for a little bit and then we’ll both leave at two-thirty to pick them up” he replied putting the car in gear.

Sounds like a plan.

“Well aren’t you a man with a plan?”

“I am but that wasn’t the plan I had come up with, but thirty minutes of making out with you might just be enough for now” he replied as we drove away from the restaurant.

We sat in silence as Matt drove us back to my house. It wasn’t an awkward silence, it was a nice peaceful silence, and we didn’t need to feel the air with noise, sitting in silence was nice.

Suddenly as Matt continued to drive something came over me, a feeling that wasn’t going to go away until I asked Matt how he was feeling. It felt like the right time to talk about our relationship now that we’ve gone on what I presume to be our first date.

“Hey Matt?”

“Yes Anna” Matt replied turning a corner.

“Do you think this is weird?”

“What’s weird?”

Now that I have started I can’t turn back.

“The situation we are in. We met yesterday morning and we have already told each other that we love one another” Matt was pulling over “but we don’t know each other and I am not trying to sound ungrateful because believe you me I have never been this happy, but don’t you think that we are moving too fast and that we will burn out to early?” I asked nervously knowing I wasn’t going to settle until I knew his response.

Matt had completely pulled the car over and had parked it. I turned to face him as turned in his seat to face me. He took my hands in his and looked at me.

“Do you believe in love at first sight?” he asked.

“Yes of course I do. But what has that got to do with anything?”

“Do you believe in fate and destiny?” he asked another question.

“Yes to some extent I suppose I do”

“Anna I think that it was fate that brought you to my counter yesterday morning, and I believe that it was written in our destiny to meet each other yesterday. My mother used to say to me that love is only worth it if you love them from the moment you meet them. Anna I love you and I want to get to know you and I know we missed the whole awkward courting part but we can go back and do all of that if you want or we can keep going forward. I think we could be great together”

“I think you’re great Matt” I started.

“But?”

“I’m scared that this is not real, I’m scared that after all this time waiting to be with someone my mind is playing some sick joke on me and has made you up. I know that sounds stupid, but it’s how I feel”

“Does this feel real?” Matt asked and then kissed me.

Of course this is real. If it wasn’t would you have just felt like that from one kiss? You know this is really Anna.

“Yes” I said leaning my forehead against his.

My eyes started to tear up and I could feel a tear escape. Matt placed his hands on my cheeks and pulled back.

“If you think that this is a mistake or we are going to fast we can slow down. We can walk away for a few days and then start as friends, hang out, go to movies the whole courtship” Matt said staring into my eyes.

“Can you drive me home?” I didn’t reply to his suggestion because I wanted to talk to him in private but as soon as I said it both his hands and smile dropped.

He started the car and drove off. We didn’t speak the whole way back to my house. Once we got home and Matt parked in the driveway I looked at him.

He’s sad. What have I just done? I’ve ruined this.

“Can you please come inside with me?” I asked hoping that he would.

He opened the door and jumped out. I opened the front door and walked in. I took his hand and walked him inside. I took off my shoes and jacket and sat on my bed. I patted for him to sit down and he took off his shoes. Slowly he walked over to the bed and sat right next to me. Yesterday we had the blanket just over our legs; today however I wanted the blanket over our heads, to bring us closer.

We sat cross legged facing each other with the blanket above our heads.

“Matt I didn’t say any of that to hurt you”

“This feels like déjà vu” he replied.

“That’s because I didn’t want to say what I want to say in public and I wanted to make sure you were actually listening to me when I spoke” I said taking his hand in mine.

“If you could would you take back saying I love you to me yesterday?” I asked.

“No”

“Why not?”

“Why do you want to know this for?” he replied getting angry.

“Indulge me please”

“I said I love you yesterday because that is how I felt and I wanted to be open and honest with you from the start, so I said it”

“I only ask because I wanted to hear you say that you love me again” I said taking his hands.

“Matt I don’t want to take it slow, I don’t want to be just friends or do the whole courtship thing. I actually want to be at the point where you don’t have to ask permission to walk inside my house or room or ask me if you can kiss me. I want us to be at the point where we can say and do anything we want and be one hundred percent comfortable with each other”

“I want all of that too, but why did you freak out in the car?”

“Because I am an idiot and it is what I do, freak out and because for the longest of time and especially after the whole Daniel thing I haven’t really learnt how to trust my feelings and other people especially guys. I love you Matt and as crazy as it sounds if you asked me to marry you right now I would probably say yes”

Please don’t ask me, please don’t ask me. Why did you just say that Anna?

He looked at me like he had had an idea and I had to stop him just in case he was going to ask.

“Please don’t ask me because I don’t think I have the strength to say no to you” I quickly said before he opened his mouth.

“I had thought about it, but maybe I’ll wait a few more days” he said with a kiss.

I laughed to show him that we were okay and that I hoped everything would go back to normal.

Don’t kid yourself kid, you just said you would marry him out loud.

“Just one more thing before I ask if we are okay. What am I supposed to do about my friends and family?”

“We’ll take it one day at a time and if that doesn’t work we can always say that we meant online” Matt said with a laugh before he kissed me again.

“Hey that’s not funny” I said pushing him away.

Yes it was.

“Yes it was” we said at the same time.

We kissed again and again and again eventually I was on my back and Matt was on top of me.

“Sorry for freaking out before” I said caressing his cheek.

“Sorry for not finding you earlier”

I love you.

We keep kissing until all of a sudden something beeped.

“What was that?” I asked as Matt pulled away.

“My watch, so I don’t forget to pick up David” he said turning off the beeping

“I guess that means we must stop and go our separate ways”

“I suppose one more kiss won’t hurt anyone”

What was supposed to be one more kiss was five minutes and now we were both late.

“Okay now we have to go”

“Yeah before Lily rings” I said putting my shoes on again.

I locked the front door behind us and stopped at my car.

“I don’t want to go” I said leaning on the car and wrapping my arms around his neck.

“Neither do I but David will be waiting for me” Matt said with a kiss.

“You and David must be really close”

“We are. For the longest time it was just me and him and a mother that was never around. He’s my best friend and I’m his. He’s going to love you when he meets you”

“Yeah?”

“Absolutely, but if I don’t leave to pick him up he’s not going to be happy”

“Go on than get out of here. Lily should be docking soon anyway” I said pushing off the car and opening the door.

“Can I text you later tonight?”

“I wouldn’t want it any other way” I said with a kiss and he was off to his car.

I waited for Matt to reverse out of the drive way before I moved the car. He beeped and was off.

Dude, he just left calm down. He said he is going to text later and he will. Just go and pick up Lily. Everything is going to be okay.

Leave a Reply

