Book Review: The 5th Wave

The 5th Wave / Rick Yancey / Penguin Books / 2015 / ISBN 9780141366470 / 457 pages / young adult, dystopian

the 5th wave book

This is my first dystopian and young adult book for 2016 and I suspect that it won’t be the last one. The 5th Wave is a sweet combination of young adult and science fiction dystopian which blends the realms of teenage hood and the end of the world together very nicely. In all honesty, I picked up this book because I saw the movie trailer and wanted to know what was going to happen before the movie comes out and everyone ruins it for me.

I didn’t think that the book was going to be for me as I struggled my way through the first few handful of chapters as they were slow and to over written, filled with scenes filled with destination descriptions and emotions. It took a while before I could start appreciating what I was actually reading, what the story was trying to tell me. The 5th Wave is not your typical young adult book filled with a sappy love story between teenagers who are struggling with themselves and their place in the world. No, no The 5th Wave is darker, more intense and somewhat very realistic in the situation Rick Yancey has foretold in the story.

Yes there is a strong female protagonist, Cassie, on a mission to save her younger brother and a boy who may or may not try and side track her from her mission, but all in all, The 5th Wave is more than a girl falls for a boy love story. The 5th Wave is about aliens, extra-terrestrial beings, terrorism both humankind and alien type, pain, hurting, suffering and the very possibility of dying and Earth dying.

The way that the story is told, as it flips from one point of view to another ever so often, there is no way to know how the story is going to end, there is no way to know what is going to happen and if Cassie (the female head strong protagonist) is really losing her mind.

The 5th Wave is the first of a book trilogy which has been turned into a movie (one that I hope to watch soon and then review for you all), which I hope will go on to make the last two books into movies just like every other young adult book these days (Twilight, The Hunger Games, Divergent), as The 5th Wave doesn’t really end, it just fades out, leaving the reader reeling in what they have learnt and holding on for the next one to know what else is going to happen.

Rick Yancey, the author of The 5th Wave has done something to this young adult book that I haven’t seen for a while in my time of read young adult books – he has successfully written a book that follows the story of two people at the same time without losing sight of the main story and point whilst creating a realistic nightmare, that is very believable.

I give it 3.9 out of 5 booky stars.

Stick around…

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The 5th Wave

Leave a Reply

