Storm…./..

*Storm, the story continues. Find more of this story under Extracts.

Morning eventually broke and the sun shoon through the window above my bed and straight into my picture of the Eiffel Tower.

Matt.

He was my last thought last night and the first thing that popped into my mind this morning. I started to think about everything we could do together like going out to dinner or to the movies, hang out, talk about weird things for hours on end, meeting the family and so on. I was getting a head of myself but it felt good to be able to look forward to something other than the airing of a television show. I was lying there just thinking about everything when I heard my father. My father works all the time with his demanding job as a public defender. When he comes home sometimes he can be in a foul mood, which is understandable after what he has to deal with at work, but it doesn’t help when he has a drink or two. It’s not that I don’t love him, it’s just that his moods and his habits drive me insane and if he puts me in a bad mood than I am in a bad mood for the rest of the day. So to get rid of this conundrum, I limit my time with him. Like this morning, I know he is going to work so I usually stay in my room until he goes, or I walk out of my room just before he opens the front door. A technique I had perfected by the age of fifteen.

“When are you going to stop doing that?” Mum asked as Dad shut the front door and I walked into the lounge room to find her on her second coffee of the day.

“Do what? I replied trying to deflect the question, knowing exactly what she meant.

“Wait for your father to leave before you come out of your room”

“I can’t really see myself not doing it” I replied walking towards the kitchen.

Mum had already started her busy day by taking Lily to the ferry wharf so she can go to university. She doesn’t usually start work until ten o’clock on a Wednesday and finishes late.

Lily is only at university for a few hours today so I won’t have the house to myself all day. I had plenty to do but didn’t want to do any of it.  My mind was focused on Matt. I wanted to know what he was doing, what he was wearing, what he was thinking and how he was feeling.

Should I text him? Will he think I am desperate if I do? What am I supposed to do?

After Mum left to go to work, I got stuck into my university work that I needed done by yesterday. It had only been fifty minutes and I was already bored from studying. I needed a distraction. I spun around on my chair trying to come up with something that I could do.

I’m so bored. Where can I go to not be bored?

With little money and friends busy at university or work during the week, leaving us with only the weekend to catch-up on, I had nothing to do and nowhere to go with anyone. I was running out of options when my phone started ringing.

RING RING

Thank you God, I was about to go crazy.

It was Matt and this was going to be our very first telephone conversation.

“Hi” I answered the phone trying not to give away how happy I was to finally be talking to him again.

“Hi, how did you sleep last night?” he asked.

“It was the best sleep I have had in a very long time”

“That is good to hear. I didn’t reply to your message, because I figured that you would have gone to sleep as soon as you pressed ‘send’ on your last one. What are your plans for today?” he asked.

Play it cool Anna. Don’t just say that you’re not busy. Let him do some of the hard work.

“Well Mum and Dad are working late again tonight and I have to pick up Lily from the ferry wharf this afternoon. I had planned to do some studying but I’m already bored of it, how about you?”

Oh yeah, that is totally keeping it cool.

“Other than picking up my brother from school at three I am free. Do you want to do something?”

Absolutely, of course I do you idiot.

“I’m guessing you’re trying to work out what to say without saying a straight out yes?” Matt asked when I didn’t reply immediately.

He knows me so well already.

“I was trying but nothing was coming to me”

“I’ll come by your house soon and we can work out what to do from there”

“Sounds great, I’ll see you soon” I replied and then hung up with a face full of smile.

Yes I did it, he’s coming over and soon I will be able to kiss his beautiful lips again.

A few minutes passed and I still had the phone in my hand as though I was waiting for it to ring again. I woke up out of my day dreaming and turned around and faced my laptop. I had a list of things to do post-it noted on the side of my computer and the longer I looked at the list the faster I was able to make up excuses not to do anything on them.

Knowing that Matt said soon I decided to pick something on the list and do it so I could take my mind off him and the butterflies that had turned into the size of moths in my stomach.

Just as I started to concentrate on my first task I heard a knock on the front door.

KNOCK KNOCK

I looked at the computer clock only to see that it had been twenty minutes since Matt had called. I slowly walked to the door and opened it. Behind the fly screen stood Matt who had a smile that went from ear to ear. I unlocked the fly screen and Matt took the handle to open it. I smiled.

No picnic basket?

I stepped back so that he would have room to get through the door. As he stepped inside and shut the door behind him he did not take his eyes off me for one second. We didn’t speak nor move; we just stood there in front of the door staring at each other before Matt leaned forward and grabbed me to bring me in for a kiss.

“Hi” Matt said when he removed his lips from mine.

“Hi” I replied dreamily.

He went to kiss me again but I put my hand over his mouth first. It’s not that I didn’t want to kiss him; I just didn’t want to do it at my front door.

“As much as I absolutely love kissing you, I would rather not do it in front of my neighbours. Let’s go to my room”

I took his hand and walked him to my room with a bit of force but only to speed him up so we could kiss more.

“Everything looks so different with that blind open” Matt said as I sat on my chair and he sat on my bed.

“It’s amazing what some sun can do after a storm” I replied turning back around to face Matt after quickly saving the work I had done on my laptop.

“What are you doing over there? I can’t kiss you if you are all the way over there” Matt said pulling my chair until it was between his legs.

He put his hands on the sides of my face and kissed me, but pulled back after one kiss.

What are you doing? You don’t need my permission to kiss me.

“Who are you?” Matt asked staring into my eyes and then proceeded to kiss me.

Who am I, more like who are you and where have you been all my life?

We kissed and continued to kiss for a few minutes until I pulled away from Matt as my back stiffened.

“Why did you just do that?”

“My back hurts” I replied quietly placing my hand on my lower back to sit me up properly.

“Here I know a way of making it better” Matt said patting on the spot next to him.

I moved to sit next to him but found that Matt had other plans. He started to kiss me and eventually we were horizontal and slightly intertwined.

“Better?” he asked brushing my hair behind my ear as I lay under him with my legs knotted in his.

“Much” I replied with a smile.

We kissed and kissed and I swear we were doing it for hours.

“Holy crap what’s the time?” I pulled away, confused and panicked.

“It’s midday. Why what’s wrong?” Matt replied after looking at his watch.

Holy crap what was that? How did I just lose all sense of time?

I didn’t reply because I didn’t know what to say.

“Did you just get lost in your first proper make out session?” Matt said sitting up on his elbow.

“Oh my god I did, didn’t I? I’m such a loser. I’m so embarrassed” I replied pulling Matts’ top down to cover my face.

“No don’t be embarrassed. It’s cute. I’ve never seen it happen to anyone. Anna it’s okay it just meant that for a few minutes you weren’t thinking and just feeling happy, in the moment.”

“Yeah, or does it mean I am a freak?” I said tucking myself into his chest again.

“Anna you are not a freak. Kissing is new to you, your body and mind is enjoying it. Don’t over analyse it, some people including myself would love to experience what you just experienced”

“Really, it’s never happened to you?” I asked coming out from his chest.

“I would love to say that it has but that would be a lie and honestly no one has ever meant that much to me that their kisses made me get lost in the moment” Matt said with another kiss.

We kissed for a few more minutes but this time I didn’t get lost. This time I was right there thinking about Matt. The kisses got intense and hotter and then suddenly Matt pulled away and jumped off the bed.

“Matt?” I asked as he ran out the bedroom door.

“Please give me a minute” he replied from what sounded like the lounge room.

No way! No way! Did that really just happen to me? Do I really have that effect on him, already?

“Are you okay?” I shouted.

“Yep, I just need a minute to cool down” he replied shyly from the other room.

Don’t laugh at Matt, don’t laugh, and don’t laugh. It is perfectly normal for this to happen to guys. You should take it as a compliment, really. Good work Anna.

After a few minutes Matt walked back into the room and sat on the bed next to me. I took his hand and just held it.

“Do you want to go and have some lunch?” I asked looking at his face which seemed to be in a state of sad and embarrassed.

He leant in and kissed me.

“Thank you”

“For what?” I asked.

“For changing subject and I know the perfect spot”

Matt didn’t tell me where we were going to be going so I quickly went to the bathroom and checked to see that what I was wearing was good enough to wear in public. When I came out refreshed, I caught Matt staring at me.

Could he get any cuter?

“The back door Anna?” Matt said after I collected my bag and we headed to the front door.

“What about it?” I asked confused as to why he was talking about the back door.

“Are you going to close it?” he pointed out to it as I stood there open.

Idiot, how could you forget the back door?

“Oh crap. See what you do to me” I said giving him my bag and walking to the back door to shut it.

After closing and locking the back door, we headed to Matt’s car, where Matt opened the passenger door for me. It was cute and rustic as he was and although it looked rough around the edges, it looked like it was being well looked after and well used by Matt.

“Thank you” I said as he helped me in and closed the door for me.

My first car ride with a guy, other than a friends’ boyfriend of course.

As Matt walked over to his side of the car, I couldn’t help think about what the neighbours might be thinking about if they were watching. But to be honest I didn’t really care. It’s not like they have never seen two people kiss before or hold hand. I know they have never seen me do any of that, but it wasn’t like it was never going to happen.

“So where are we going?” I asked once Matt had started the car.

“You’re going to love it. I have been going to this place since I moved here and the food is amazing” Matt replied driving out of the driveway and down the street.

Leave a Reply

