Storm…/..

*The story continues…(Look under ‘Extracts‘ for more from this story)

I started clearing my room of all the emergency things I had brought into it. I blow out the candles and folded the blankets I had on the carpet. I put everything back where they belong, but kept the blanket we had used on the bed.

It was well past four when I had finished cleaning my room but Mum or Lily weren’t meant to be home for another two hours. I decided that I needed to clear my head and the best way to do that was in a cold shower. I hesitantly jumped into the shower but couldn’t get Matt’s face and voice out of my mind. I had hoped that a cold shower would cool me down and help me clear my thoughts about Matt, but it didn’t work. There was nothing in the world that was going to make me clear my thought, empty my mind, not today, probably not ever. I knew as soon as he said those three little words that my life was going to change forever, but what I didn’t know was that I was going to be able to feel such emotions like I have today ever in my life. I had dreamt about it forever, but in real life it doesn’t feel anything like it. I knew it was a risk, a risk I was willing to take for myself because I knew I was going to regret it if I didn’t follow my heart.

I wasn’t able to forget about Matt but I was able to work out what I was going to cook for dinner. As I got dressed in my bedroom I saw my phone on my bedside table and remembered that Matt had done something to it. I hurried to get it and open it and see what he had done. But I couldn’t find anything. There were no pictures, no messages, no Facebook status, or Twitter updates or even an email.

What did he do to my phone?

I was getting frustrated not being able to find what Matt had done knowing that he indeed had done something, so I put it down and went to fix my hair. As I stood there towel drying my hair it came to me that the only place I hadn’t looked was in my calendar.

What is he going to do in my calendar? Check to see when I’m free? News update – I’m always free!

I grabbed my phone and started looking in my calendar.

Finally, I found it.

CALENDAR ENTRY FOR 9:30AM TODAY: Talked to a superhot check out guy who followed me to my car and then proceeded to give me his number.

CALENDAR ENTRY FOR 12PM TODAY: Stalker, also known as Matt kissed me and told me that he loved me.

He marked it on my calendar? Seriously? Could this guy get any cuter?

I read them over and over again, making sure that my eyes and brain weren’t deceiving me. I fell back onto my bed as I kept reading them over and over again with a massive smile on my face.

I wanted to talk to him. I wanted to say thank you or something else, anything else that would let me hear his angelic voice again, but he told me he would call me when he was free at home.

Calm down Anna; don’t freak him out with being the clingy girl that can’t spend time away from him.

I laid there on my bed for a while just replying the events of today over and over in my mind, hypnotised by Matt and his message.

INCOMING SMS: Just left work, on my way home. See you soon, Mum.

Mum’s coming home, back to reality.

OUTGOING SMS: About to start dinner. Dad is working late. Love Anna.

I could have stayed on my bed all night if I didn’t have to cook dinner, but I couldn’t, it was part of the deal for me to stay home and study. Good thing I’m a pretty good cook. So I grabbed my phone, put it in my pocket and headed to the kitchen with my IPod. I placed ABBA on loud, to drown out the rain and started cooking.

Dinner was almost done when Mum got home. I grabbed what I needed to set the table and went and fixed it as the pasta finished cooking. I checked my phone as I walked out of the kitchen for the second time with more things to put on the table.

“Who are you waiting a call from?” Mum asked sneaking up on me.

“Oh no one I was just checking the time” I replied putting my phone back in my pocket.

The pasta finished cooking, the table was set and Mum had finished whatever work she needed to do. Lily walked through the front door as I placed the pasta on the table.

“Good timing” I called out as she locked the door behind her.

Dad called again saying that he had to finish the rest of the shift he has started. There was still nothing from Matt.

The rest of the night was just like every other night, dinner went on without Dad and Lily talked our ears off about work. All was the same, except that tonight I was waiting for a message, a call, anything from Matt. It had only been a few hours since I last heard his voice or saw his face, but it felt like an eternity. As I sat in front of the television watching whatever Lily wanted to watch, I was getting fidgety and impatient. I was trying to work out if there was something that I could say to start the conversation or get his attention.

I’m going crazy. Please text me Matt.

It was getting close to ten o’clock which in my terms is pretty early, but when you are waiting for someone to message you it literary feels like forever, when I decided to go to bed. I lay their trying to relax listening to the clock ticking. Tick tick tick tick. And eventually I fell asleep.

BEEP BEEP

Finally a message.

It was well past eleven o’clock when the message came through. I had already had thirty minutes of sleep. I must have been more tired than I had thought. I guess meeting a guy and falling in love in one day can really drain a person.

Eventually I rolled over and grabbed my phone. Opening my eyes slowly, knowing the light from the phone would blind me, I took my time to read the message.

INCOMING SMS: Sorry it took me so long to get back to you. I thought about calling, but it’s late. Dinner took longer than usual and it threw out my plans. Matt.

Interesting. As much as I want to keep talking I want to sleep.

OUTGOING MESSAGE: Is everything okay? Sleep is good company when you are waiting for something. Anna.

I held onto the phone and dozed back off to sleep. For the first time in a long time I went to sleep with a smile. It was also the first time in a long that I wish that I could fast forward through the night and get to the next day.

INCOMING SMS: Oh I’m sorry were you sleeping? I didn’t mean to wake you up. I just wanted to say good night and make sure you didn’t go crazy waiting for me to text you. Matt.

Me go crazy? Ha-ha like that was going to happen.

OUTGOING SMS: I was sleeping but happy to be woken by you. Thank you for an amazing day and putting it into my calendar. Good night. Anna.

As soon as I pressed ‘send’ I fell back asleep.

Leave a Reply

