Storm (continues)

*More from my story Storm. If you haven’t read the beginning you will find the first two post under ‘Extract’s . The first post and the second post.

“I think I need some water” I said retracting my hand and standing up.

“You have water right here” I heard Matt say but it was too late I was already heading to the kitchen.

I knew I had water in my room; I had everything I could possibly need during a storm. I needed a moment to think, to make sense of what was happening. None of it made sense. Nowhere in any of the books have I read does it ever talk about seeing each other and falling in love immediately. It’s never happened for my friends, why would it happen to me? I opened the fridge door as a bolt of lightning struck and I cringed. Closing the door I saw Matt standing at the kitchen door.

“Oh my god you scared me” I said grabbing my heart, metaphorically.

“Sorry I didn’t mean to scare you, I just wanted to see that you are okay and ask you something” Matt replied as I walked towards me and then around him to leave the kitchen.

“You say sorry a lot and what is your question?”

“It’s a habit I have. Well my question is: who is your favourite princess?” Matt said grabbing my hand to stop me from walking away.

“How do you know I like princesses?” I asked.

“It might be dark in your room, but your walls are pink, you have a picture of the Eiffel tower on your wall, your nails are painted pink and you selection of books mainly include romance novels. I could guess but I would rather you tell me” Matt replied letting go of my hand.

“You’re observant aren’t you and as embarrassing as this is for me to tell you, for some weird reason I know you won’t laugh or judge me. Cinderella” I said then walked away from Matt and headed to my room.

Why would he want to know that? How can putting things that are in my room together and think that I like princess? I mean I do, I love royals and have always wanted to be one, but I am not stupid enough to think I could ever be one.

“Why did you want to know?” I asked placing the bottle I had taken out of the fridge and putting it on my bedside table.

Matt was right behind me when I turned around. It was the closest I have ever been next to a man, any closer and you think inappropriate things if you saw us. Neither of us said anything or even moved, we just stood in front of each other and I could feel my heart beat racing.

“I have always wanted to be someone’s Prince Charming. Let me be your Prince Charming.” he said placing both of his hand on the side of my face, running his thumbs up and down my cheeks.

I don’t know what came over me, but all of a sudden calm washed over me, my stomach settled and my heart said yes.

“You can be my Prince Charming if you let me be your Cinderella” I replied placing my hand attentively on his hips.

Our height difference was noticeable, but workable. He is a head taller than me and as he looked down into my eyes, I could see him for everything he was. And just as I went to smile, our face grew closer and then suddenly we were kissing.

Wow!

“Matt” I said gasping for air.

“Anna” Matt replied leaning his forehead against mine.

“That was electrifying” I said catching my breath.

As soon as I finished my sentence the lights turned off.

“Maybe too electrifying” Matt said pulling away and I could see him smile.

“I hate blackouts” I almost yelled as I went to turn the light switch back on to see it was really out.

“I have some candles over there, could you light them? I need to check the fuse box” I said pulling a lighter out of my pocket.

“Let me come with you” Matt replied taking the lighter out of my hand.

“No it will only take me a second, the box is right there behind my room, I’ll be right back” I said grabbing a jacket off one of my hooks and heading out.

Of course it was still raining as I headed outside, so I grabbed dad’s boots that were outside the front door and slid them on. I didn’t want to get electrocuted. I quickly opened the fuse and flicked up the switch that my parents had taught me to use. But nothing happened. Usually the house alarm should sound, but there was nothing. I did it one more time and still nothing happened.

“Dammit” I yelled, slamming the fuse box door shut.

“Anna, are you okay?” I heard Matt yell out from my room.

“Yeah” I called back but not as loud as I must have though because as I got to the front door Matt was standing there.

“Don’t do that to me” Matt said as he let me into the house.

“Sorry I thought you could hear me” I replied locking the door.

“Next time let me go out” he said closing his hand around mine.

I nodded and then walked back to my room with Matt still holding my hand.

“I don’t think I have ever had so many candles lit in my room at once” I said standing next to my bed looking at all the flickering candles.

“Well I didn’t want you to be scared of the storm or the black out or me, so I lit them all” Matt said standing next to me.

“I’m scared of the thunder and black out but I’m not scared of you, not anymore anyway” I replied sitting on my bed.

“Really, because you weren’t scared to tell me how you were feeling” Matt said, sitting down next to me.

“That is what you think. I felt like I was about to vomit when you walked through the door. My stomach only settled moments before you kissed me” I shyly replied as I fidgeted with my fingers.

“If I kiss you again will you stop being nervous?” Matt asked gripping his hands over mine.

I stopped fidgeting but I was still nervous, I still was nervous about speaking to Matt.

“I tend to over think things, my mind likes to race and I like to play out things in my mind and most of the time things never happen the way I want them to and I also ramble now too” I replied facing Matt.

“I’m going to kiss you now” Matt said letting go of my hands and placing his hand behind my head pulling me in closer to him.

And he did, he kissed me. It was electrifying. It was perfection. It was everything I thought being kissed would be like. I didn’t want it to stop. I didn’t want to keep thinking. I just wanted to kiss this very good looking stranger who is sitting on my bed.

“Better?” Matt asked pulling away only slightly so I could feel him breathing on me still.

I shook my head no.

“What can I do to make it better?”

“Tell me about yourself” I replied and Matt completely pulled away.

“Okay well what do you want to know?” Matt asked.

Everything and anything: I want to know all about you, you beautiful stranger.

“Where are you from? Because that slight accent tells me that you are not from Australia” I said standing up and moving to sit at the top of my bed, leaning against my bed head.

“Well my father is Irish and my mother is English. I however was born in Scotland, whilst they were there on their honeymoon” Matt replied turning to face me but not moving from the end of the bed, but swiveled to face me.

Really, wow.

“I know what you’re thinking and yes it was a rushed wedding, but I’ve been told that they were in love when they did get married” Matt continued.

“I wasn’t thinking that. I was thinking about the fact that I have always wanted to go to Scotland and Ireland. So they’re not together anymore?” I asked leaning forward.

Matt shook his head no.

“I didn’t mean to bring this up. I just wanted to get to know you” I said stretching out for his hand.

“No it’s okay. My parents’ breaking up is the reason I am here, well in Australia anyway and well now here” Matt replied, squeezing my hand a little bit.

A broken house, oh no not a broken household.

“How about you?” Matt asked.

“My sister Lily and I were both born here in Australia, but my mum and dad were both born in Italy”

“An Italian girl, nice” Matt smiled.

Matt let go of my hand and walked around to sit down next to me at the top of my bed. He took my right hand in his left hand and linked his fingers through mine.

“You seem tense. What’s wrong?”

“How do you know I seem tense? You haven’t know me long, well actually all you know about me is that I am scared of thunderstorms, blackouts and have never been in love before” I replied staring at our fingers interlocked.

“I know a little bit more than that. I know that you shop for your family and that you need to feel safe so you close your house up during a storm; I know you want to go to Paris one day because of your picture that you probably stare at every day. And I know that you grew up wanting to fall in love with a knight in shining armor and that you would settle for a Prince Charming”

“Maybe you do know me”

“Maybe I can be your Prince Charming?” Matt said turning to face me.

“I have one condition” I said turning to face him too.

“Name it” he said getting closer to me.

“Don’t break my heart” I whispered.

“Never” Matt whispered back then threw his lips to onto mine.

Is there such thing as love at first sight? Have I just fallen in love with this perfect stranger?

Leave a Reply

